Skip to content

Amazing Color Progress

September 22, 2012

I am having a great time with this piece.  Before we pulled in the slides and headed south to McMinnville, OR I managed to complete another 8 blocks.  My theory that one color was carried to the next square proved to be wrong as Block 9 used two colors not previously used.  When I pull the colors for the next block I am sometimes surprised at the combinations.  Combinations that I would never think to use.  I can not show you the whole project until I get Kathy Rees’s permission to photo and post her project photo.

We are currently at an RV rally which we are hosting so my stitching time is limited for a few days.  Tomorrow we will head to the Oregon coast for a couple of weeks and I hope to make great progress.  Each block is an accomplishment in itself.  If you look closely you can see that each block is divided into quarters some with directional changes.  The amount of thought that goes into a design is amazing. Sorry the picture below is a little fuzzy…I was trying to show detail and it is not as clear as I had hoped it would be.  You can see the patterns in the blocks.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gwen permalink
    September 25, 2012 9:05 am

    Just wanted to drop a line and let you know that I recently finished this and it looks simply beautiful. I had it finished as a box pillow and it now sits in my living room. I was able to get the threads from 2 different shops during one of my trips back home (in Louisiana). I did it all in the silks and the colors are so vibrant. I worked on it every Sunday for about 4 hours for months and usually got about 4 blocks at a time done. But it was so much fun that I know you will enjoy each block as they are their own little jewel.
    Gwen

  2. Winogene permalink
    September 25, 2012 11:25 am

    This makes me think of Nova………which I LOVED !!!!!!! I am anxious to see more !!!!!!!Winogene

Leave a Reply

