Skip to content

Amazing Color: The Beginning

September 17, 2012

I have begun a BIG project. It is a Needle Delights Original called Amazing Colors. The designer is Kathy Rees. It has a design area of 12″ X 12″.  I have framed up a 16″ X 16″ piece of 18ct white canvas.  The design can be seen at www.needledelights.com .  It is made up of 144 squares, each square is 18 threads X 18 threads.  It is one of those projects that I can just sit and stitch.  The directions and charts are great.  Each square is a project in itself…..so far I have finished 8 squares. As the title suggests it is made up of lots of colors.  I am using floss and Weeks Dye Works overdyed floss, just as the chart calls for. NO CHANGES…imagine that 🙂

 As I am stitching this upside down.

Squares  1-8 show from right to left.

The color progression is very interesting. Each square has only 2 colors, and one color is carried to the next square with a new addition. Some combinations are ones I wouldn”t think to put together.  I am sure there is lots to learn about color in this project.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2012 6:42 pm

    It is beautiful! I have this pattern also, you are motivating me to get started!

  2. September 18, 2012 6:06 am

    I started this project 18 months ago. I have stitched almost three rows. It is an interesting project. I have put it aside for now. Maybe I’ll get back to it soon. Great job on yours so far.

  3. September 18, 2012 9:08 am

    Looks like a great color exercise. As well as fun & not too demanding 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

