Skip to content

Mad Miters Complete ! ! !

September 12, 2012

At 3:25pm today I put the last stitch in the border and completed Mad Miters.  I do admit that there were times when I was tempted to put it aside as I am not real thrilled with the results.  However I learned a lot and will probably try another Mad Miters some time in the future.

I did use the metallic in the center section and in the border’s small diamonds. I think it did bring all the sections together somewhat.  I know now that I never should have tried to use so many colors.  I forgot that color is what makes bargello and several values of a single color with perhaps a contrast and/or metallic is really a good formula.

Now I am thinking of what next ???? I did get the September Sock but somehow I am not excited about another sock just now.  I feel like I have been stitching on “have to’s” most of the summer.  I am ready for a fun “I want to do” project.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2012 6:24 am

    This is interesting. I’ve been looking at your photo and trying to decide why this piece isn’t as thrilling as you’d like it to be. It looks like the right and left sides are of unequal weight to the eye. The top left is dark and heavy and, btw, I love it. The middle is perfection in trying to bring balance. But the right side is just somehow not quite there. Can’t wait to see what you stitch next.

  2. Batfrau permalink
    September 14, 2012 8:45 pm

    if it were all of even weight you wouldn’t be able to see anything. I like the crosscut feeling.

  3. Wendy Watts permalink
    October 8, 2012 10:57 am

    I have been looking at a lot of your work and I think you do fantastic work. I just got interested in needlework again and look forward to trying to make bookmarks for several in my family for Christmas. Thank you for showing me the different pictures of your work. Quite inspiring to say the least 🙂
    Wendy Watts

Leave a Reply

