Skip to content

Carnival Continues

July 27, 2012

This project is coming together so easy. I keep waiting for a big problem to present itself.  I have completed one quarter of the bottom bargello area.  I left it alone for a day or so and just looked it.

I got out the graph paper again and began playing around for possible fill in stitches for the area between Row 1 and 2.  I loved having a stitch app on my iPad that allowed me to look at stitch diagrams and make some notes on stitches to try.

I have decided to complete all the bargello rows both on the bottom and the center of the design before I do any of the fill in areas. I have found in the past that when all four areas of a four-way bargello the visual can be different than what is imagined. You can see in the photo above that rows 3 and 4 are not complete to the diagonals.  This is an area where I left threads at the end of each row because I wasn’t exactly sure where the row extension compensation would go.  When I got rows 5 and 6 complete to the diagonals it was easy to see where rows 3 and 4 could go. The next decision was exactly where I wanted to do the compensation. In the photo below to the right you see the first area of bargello completed. I decided to leave an opening to be filled in at the end of row 3.  When I got to the end of the second repeat of the darkest color I stopped at the diagonal.  I did the same for the next rows and discovered that it created a corner square for a fill in area. Now I will work on the other three sides and the center.  It will be time consuming but just the kind of stitching I can do while I am visiting friends.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Winogene permalink
    July 28, 2012 7:39 am

    I am curious……….what threads are you using??????????

Leave a Reply

