Skip to content

Sock #4 Update

July 14, 2012

This sock is stitching up very fast……probably because I don’t want it to 🙂  Janet’s inspiration for this months project is the Aurora Borealis.  I have seen videos of the Northern Lights and would love to see them for real.When I read the instructions I hit a brick wall on the threads to use. Part of this lesson is the shading of the amount of shimmer in each row.  I did not bring many spools of Krienik so at first I was stumped. I went through all the threads I had with me and discovered some Painters Threads that I had purchased at seminar a couple of years ago.  It is a multi color, almost like an overdye, metallic made up of several strands. One of the colors I had just said “northern lights”.  I decided to build my free curve line and use the Painters Threads as a starting point for my threads.  I pulled two greens ( one looks white in the photo but is a light green)  and a krienik that looks silver but is a very light green.  I would not worry about the shading of the shimmer and just make “pretty” 🙂  Janet’s sock had a black background but I felt that the black was too stark so I used a very dark navy. Now I will do the cuff and this will be done.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Winogene permalink
    July 15, 2012 8:14 am

    I think I am going to like it….yes, even the green !!!! Can’t wait to see the cuff…….is that going to be all greens????? That would be beautiful !!!!!

Leave a Reply

