Skip to content

Sock #4 The Beginning

July 11, 2012

I look forward each month to a new Socks and Mittens club project from Janet Perry.  This months design presented a challenge as my limited stash of threads here in the motor home has caused me to “punt”.  The learning opportunity this month is creating a free curve bargello design.  I thought no problem, I have done this before…….:) However following Janet’s instruction I found that it was indeed a challenge.  I have stitched small bargello designs with no pattern, just picked up the needle and started stitching.  Being a Type A personality I never realized how symmetrical my bargello lines are. I never avoid “random” but when I look at my random I can almost always find a pattern 🙂

Using 10ct graph paper I was tasked with drawing a curved line and then turning it into a line of bargello. Sounds easy !!! Sorry the photo isn’t better but you get the idea. Notice my top line…I couldn’t get the sharp down part of the curve move the way I wanted it.  The line that I finally decided to use is the bottom one.  My designed line was longer than the outline of the sock so I only used part and then redesigned towards the end to better fit the Sock outline.  Here is the first line stitched. Next time I sill discuss how my thread selections were made and why.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2012 9:09 am

    Looks like a fun project. It should “loosen” you up for Mad Miters!

  2. July 12, 2012 9:32 am

    I love this line andI adore the color.

    Keep Stitching,
    Janet

  3. Winogene permalink
    July 13, 2012 12:36 pm

    See??? That wasn’t so bad, was it ????? I didn’t think YOU would EVER have any kind of problem with bargello !!!!!

Leave a Reply

