Skip to content

Sock #3, June

June 16, 2012

This months Sock is very different.  It is the third in Janet Perry’s Sock Club.  She introduced me to a motif entitled “carnation”. It is a single motif that is not repeated. The instructions are to stitch it completely and then draw the sock around it.  The reason for this is that the carnation is a little larger than the original sock so I had to widen it a bit.

It just so happened that I had floss (that I did not use) in colors from Bargello & Roses that matched the colors that Janet used in her sample photo. The outline was a bit of a challenge.  It had to all be counted, not relaxing first row followed by repeats 🙂

Once the outline was completed I used my highlighters to mark the chart as to the three pinks that were used in the interior.  I know I have mentioned before that going over a pattern with highlighters is like stitching it.  It really helps when you actually put thread on canvas.  I do it on charts where the color separation for rows or layers is not very easy to see.

I am now working on the fill in around the carnation.  the cuff will be last.  I hope to have this done in a few days.

RE: Bargello & Roses…… someone suggested spider roses.  I do like doing spiders so I am considering this as an option.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anna Mursin permalink
    June 18, 2012 3:19 am

    Very lovely. I look forward to your filling in the carnations. Beautiful Rose.

Leave a Reply

