Skip to content

Bargello & Roses Continued

June 4, 2012

This bargello is going pretty fast. It is a great project to just sit and stitch.  The upper section is complete and I am over half way done with the bottom.  I am looking forward to getting to the “Roses” part of the design.  I plan on redesigning it as the original roses called for are done in bullion stitches.  I don’t seem to be able to master the bullion stitch.  I am thinking on other flowers to use instead.  Below is a close up.  I think the Watercolors used really blend in great.  I hope to be done with the bargello in a few days.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane Ackley permalink
    June 4, 2012 3:52 pm

    Your colors are beautiful on this piece! Buillons are the nemesis of many of us even out here in the land of Gay Ann Rogers who integrates many of them into designs. She has a great way of teaching them but she says you must practice 10 each day to get proficient. I have actually made them in her classes but have neglected the 10/day practice and alas, have not become proficient. They do make beautiful roses. Just a glance at her pieces illustrates that. Good luck resigning the roses.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      June 5, 2012 1:36 pm

      I have taken classes where I hoped to learn bullions and I get it in class but it must fall out of my brain when I get away….maybe I should challenge myself with this.

      https://stitchlady.wordpress.com My needlework blog. Do Visit

      ________________________________

  2. June 4, 2012 7:20 pm

    Jan, while I’m not a huge fan of DOING bullion stitches, they make great roses. One hint I’ve found that helps is keeping tension on the thread as you are wrapping and taking the needle down. For me, I have the needle in my right hand and the thread in the left. I twist the needle around the thread to do the wrapping and then as I put the needle thru the fabric/canvas, I maintain the tension with the left hand. And my right hand then goes below the canvas to pull it through. It also takes practice. I hope this helps.

  3. Winogene permalink
    June 7, 2012 10:26 am

    Jan, when you get here, if you ever do, we can do some bullions together !!! They really are fun to do, especially after you have done a few, and see the beautiful results !!!!!

Leave a Reply

