Skip to content

Sock #2

May 15, 2012

I have started the second Sock in the Sock and Mittens Club being run by Janet Perry.  Being in a little funk I decided to stitch something small while we are on the road.  We finished loading the motor home yesterday and after dithering around all morning we finally got on the road around noon.  We weren’t going far so there was no hurry.  We had an offer for a free night, free dinner and free breakfast at the Lazy J Campground in Tucson.  It is a lovely park and right off I-10.  The only drawback is that it is HOT here. Right now it is 96 in the shade with a hot breeze blowing.  Our air conditioner is getting a workout but is handling the job just fine.

I spent a couple of hours on the floor of my studio earlier this week trying to select colors for this second sock.  I became very frustrated with the way I have my threads organized (?) !  Doing bargello requires several values of a color and I seem to have one or two values but not the third.  How can this be when I feel like I am a member in good standing of the SABLE club.

The lesson to be learned on this Sock is transitioning from color to color.  I will be anxious to hear what Janet says when I post this to th Yahoo group for this club.

Tomorrow we start traveling north….where I think there is cool and rainy weather.  Our first destination is the Oregon Coast and it will take us about a week 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 5:40 pm

    Nice start on the stocking. I placed an order for threads this past weekend. I’ll start the stocking soon.

  2. Julia permalink
    May 15, 2012 5:47 pm

    I like that pattern and would enjoy doing this. I am trying to get small stockings made for all the family: children and grandchildren.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      May 15, 2012 7:14 pm

      Bargello patterns are great for stockings, especially small ones. On a large stocking bargello can fill nearly any shape. All bargello books have many patterns that you can adapt. Have fun

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

  3. napaneedlepoint permalink
    May 16, 2012 6:43 am

    I love the colors you picked, those light blue-greens are so pretty with the pink.

    Keep Stitching,
    Janet

  4. May 16, 2012 9:22 am

    Very pretty color combination. Enjoy your travels! I envy you going up the coast. My favorite places are there!

    • stitchlady permalink*
      May 16, 2012 11:41 am

      We are sitting in Gila Bend , the thermometer is in the sun and it 110…with 11 percent humidity ! I hope to,get some stitching done tonite. Can not get north fast enough

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

