Skip to content

Sky View, A Little Progress

April 9, 2012

I finally got up enough nerve to start stitching.  I think just starting on something different is the hard part. I began with the river. Using randon slightly diagonal stitches over 2 to 4 threads I began with 2 shades of Splendor green in my needle.  I stitched leaving empty spaces along the way so I could go back with Petite Sparkle Rays and add some sun reflection.  I am using away knots and not ending my threads in case I decide to do some “frog work”‘

My river is not the all same width, most rivers are not.  I am not being too concerned with the curving edges as there will be trees along the greater part of the river.

I left the river and did some work on the dirt road that runs through my “property” I used a Threadworx overdyed ans a very simple stitch.  I am not sure of it’s name I just made it fit my space. My camera picked up the color changes more than they actually are because I was so close to the canvas.

Now I am pondering……..

One Comment leave one →
  1. Irene permalink
    April 9, 2012 3:11 pm

    May I make a suggestion on the river? Where the river goes around a bend, instead of changing sharply from straight up and down to a diagonal, try using some angles in between, e.g. make a stitch 2 across and 3 down. That way I think you will get more of a flow effect.

    Congratulations on being brave enough to try your own design! I suspect the process will involve lots of trial and error before you will be happy with it.

Leave a Reply

