Skip to content

Sky View The Beginning

April 6, 2012

This will be something new for me.  I am designing a piece and will try to document the hows and whys.  I hope you don’t get bored. I am doing this so I have a record of my first design from inspiration to completion (I hope) 🙂  I will be stitching on other projects at the same time.  Designing requires thinking and making desisions as the project sits there and looks at you.

The inspiration for this project ( titled Sky View ) came last August when I was flying to Seminar in San Antonio.  I got a window seat (flying SW, no bag fees, all aisle seats taken) that wasn’t right over the wing.  I was looking out the window and the landscape below me looked like a wonderful geometric world.  Acreage divisions, a river wandering, trees along the river.  Many shapes and earth tone colors.  My immediate thought was “what a wonderful starting point for an original design”. It was the last time I traveled anywhere without a notebook.  Upon arrival at Seminar I got a notebook and started making sketches and notes. I took advantage of the full needlework shop at seminar to pick up a few possible threads.  We were traveling in the motorhome at the time and the notebook got put away for “another day”.  In February I traveled again and took a window seat so I could view the landscape and make more notes.  This time the notebook stayed in view in my studio and last week I pulled some threads and mounted canvas.  Sometimes getting started is the hardest part.  I have no idea if I can put together a design…well, one that is OK by design principles.

Here is the raw beginning sketches and some possible thread choices.

You will notice that the threads are displayed on brown canvas.  Well, in my haste to get started I neglected to check the count…..it is 14.  I almost always buy 18ct so I assumed ……. I have gone to ecru canvas.

Any and all comments will be appreciated.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 10:19 am

    Look forward to your design.

  2. April 6, 2012 11:03 am

    This will be fascinating and fun to watch. Might even give me the courage to attempt a design.

  3. Toni permalink
    April 6, 2012 12:36 pm

    Love it! I’m just getting started on my own first attempt at a design, too!

  4. BFromM permalink
    April 6, 2012 3:55 pm

    I have some design ideas floating around in my head, and I’ve bought some threads for some of them. I even started one, but I’m currently stuck. It will be fascinating to watch what you do.

  5. April 7, 2012 8:27 am

    Great idea & wonderful threads. I think you’ll come up with something terrific!

  6. Sally permalink
    April 7, 2012 8:48 pm

    This will be an exciting adventure!

  7. Ro Pace permalink
    April 8, 2012 1:34 am

    So glad you are designing your first piece and documenting it. My one suggestion is to start each thread with an away knot and end them by bringing the thread to the top of the canvas. That way if you change your mind about the thread you can easily remove it.

    Happy stitching, Ro

  8. April 8, 2012 10:30 am

    I love the inspiration for this project and look forward to seeing what you do with it. The colors you’ve selected so far look good. Don’t be afraid to try out other types of thread and colors too. Sometimes the changing of one thread can make a big difference in the design. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

