Skip to content

Spring Delights Update

October 18, 2011

I keep making progress on Spring Delights. I spent two days doing tent in Area 16.  This is a 40 thread by 40 thread square…….that’s 1600 tent stitches ! The design was then stitched on top of the tent with one strand of a contrasting thread.  My eyes really got tired trying to count the tent stitches for the design.  It turned out good…. but it was a lot of work for one square.
Area 15 was time consuming also.  Two layers of stitches and then BEADS. I don’t think I have ever done as many beads in one project as I have on this one.  And there are still more to do.

Now for the big problem……See the two pink beaded hearts in Area 2, they all have to come out.  When I stitched the first heart in class I miscounted the up/down position by one thread. To compound the problem I stitched the second heart keying off the first heart 🙂 I keep looking at it and dreading all the time it will take to unbead. If any of you have any suggestions on how to remove the beads, I would appreciate your suggestions.  I can’t see any way except one bead at a time.  I will have to reuse the beads so I can’t lose too many.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 2:43 pm

    This piece is looking terrific. With your unbeading problem, this is what I would do and it is a little more difficult making a suggestion and not seeing the piece in person. I would lay out a blanket such as fleece or towel with some fluff on a flat surface and take a seam ripper or sharp scissors and start cutting the thread. This should allow you to keep your beads on the surface and quickly get back to restitching the piece. Good luck with the unbeading. I hate losing the time it took to put them in.

  2. Carolyn Stolhand permalink
    October 20, 2011 4:23 pm

    Jan,
    In the grand scheme of things, does the ONE thread mistake TRULY show? Is there not a way you can leave it? Of course you’ve told everyone on your blog, but will anybody else notice?

Leave a Reply

