Skip to content

Beading…..Beading…..on Spring Delights

October 13, 2011

Area 1 Complete

Now that I am back in my studio I have no excuse for not tackling all the beading in this project. Area 1 was suppose to have beads but I just could not get the beads to fit between the metallic stitches.  I opted to just do the diagonal stitch in the thread that was suppose to be used for the beads.

Area 4 has clear beads that are hard to see in this photo.  I just adds a hint of sparkle when the light hits it right.  It was a lot of beading that can’t really be seen when completed.

Area 13 was started in class.  I finished up the white pattern and then added the beads.  This is how beads should look after I go to all the trouble to put them in.

I must make a comment here about beading:  I do not mind the actual attaching the beads to the canvas BUT trying to thread the beading needle, especially with floss and not beading thread, drives me up the wall.  I feel so inadequate when I take 5 minutes to thread the (bleep) needle. 🙂

 

Area 13 Complete

Area 4 Complete

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nancy Robertson permalink
    October 13, 2011 10:34 am

    Jan, have you ever tried Bohin #10 needles? They aren’t called beading needles and are probably only an inch long. My LNS recommended them for beading and the eye is a little bigger so they are easier to thread.

  2. Nina permalink
    October 13, 2011 10:48 am

    If it only takes you 5 mins you are doing great. I often give up on beading needles and find a chinelle(?) needle that goes thru the bead. Your work is inspiring and amazing.

    Nina

  3. Cait Johnson permalink
    October 13, 2011 10:58 am

    Try some Elmer’s school glue on the floss, and then taper the floss before it dries. The glue washes out of the floss and fabric it you need it to. I have had good luck with that. Also Fray Check will work but that doesn’t was out as easily.

Trackbacks

  1. For People Who Beading…..Beading…..on Spring Delights « STITCHLADY'S …

Leave a Reply

