Skip to content

Plum Blossom Kimono Update

August 15, 2011

It just gets better and better ……. I am about to reach the bottom of the center section. Each square is a learning lesson.

The light pink area (lg) is the least favorite area I have done.  There is exposed canvas, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but this pattern looks like the exposed area is a mistake….. I may go back and redesign that area.

One tip I have mentioned before bears mentioning again.  When looking at a chart for a new area I get out my highlighters.  By highlighting the stitching path I find it is like stitching it.  I discover where the pattern changes or where compensating stitches are placed. Using two colors, one for row one and one for row two helps me see how the rows are related to each other.  This process saves a lot of “frog stitching” 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    August 15, 2011 3:55 pm

    We’ve done such an incredible job I agree with the light pink area. Of course, the one stitch you aren’t happy with is in the middle of the kimono. Is that the way it is charted? Maybe there’s a way to compensate it that you will be pleased with the result. Good luck.

  2. August 16, 2011 8:45 am

    I can’t believe how fast you are stitching this! You’ll be done in no time!
    Re the light pink section: You could just extend the stitches on the sides to cover the blank threads. I think that would work and you wouldn’t have to rip much.

  3. Winogene permalink
    August 16, 2011 11:00 am

    I think it is looking good !!!!! I just compensated a stitch or two on mine !!!!! LOVE it !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

