Skip to content

Left Sleeve Complete

July 30, 2011

Two days of stitching has completed the left sleeve of my kimono.  I just love those projects made up of areas that let you feel like you have completed a mini-project every time you move on to the next one.

I am using 2 or 3 strands of silk in this project. I haven’t used silk in a while and I must remember how it wears, especially on 22 ct congress.  I am using small lengths and trying to keep the shine of the silk alive. I am also learning NOT to use the silk if I have to reverse work more than 2 or 3 stitches.

Due to the 14″ X 16″ stretcher bars I am working on this upside down.  So far I have rememberd to turn my chart upside down 🙂 Some areas it doesn’t matter but I turn the chart for all areas. I have made some progress on the right sleeve and may finish it today. The weather here in Montana had turned pretty warm ( 90 ) so afternoons are perfect for being inside and stitching,

One Comment leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    July 30, 2011 5:00 pm

    So so pretty and you’ve made great progress. I have been wanting to stitch a kimono for some time. I was very interested in John Waddell’s version of Maggie Lane’s kimono by Hummingbird House (90 different stitches), but I much prefer the shape of this kimono – it’s much more interesting. How would I go about purchasing this stitch guide? I look forward to following your progress.

Leave a Reply

