Skip to content

My Other “Ant” Rose 6/26

June 26, 2011

In the midst of traveling for a wedding I have managed to make progress on on My Other “Ant” Rose.  I have all the laid and couched done.  The border was fun and quick.  This UFO is coming along great.

Upon  completing the border I thought it looked unfinished because the border wasn’t solid.  In the lower left corner I tried a small metallic filling stitch using the same metallic as in the border.  I am now looking at it each day trying to decide if I am being “picky”. What do you think?  See enlarged photo below.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cait Johnson permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:25 pm

    Well, it looks pretty fine to me. Let it sit for a bit and work on another part of it and then re-visit it after a bit. On another note, Ilove those soft colors. Very soothing to the eye.
    Thanks for the photo.

  2. Irene permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:33 pm

    I too think the border looks absolutely fine, but you have every right to be picky and to change things as you like. In order to make a good judgement, I would recommend completing a section of the border (I presume you are intending to fill in the gaps from the edge up to the inner border). That way you can see more clearly what it will look like if you do all of it.

    It’s looking good.

  3. Jocelyn permalink
    June 26, 2011 4:50 pm

    I think it depends on what you are going to do with it. If it is to be framed with a mat, then I would leave it nice and lacy – that is i wouldn’t add the extra stitches.
    If it is to be finished close to the stitching, then I would add the extra stitches to give it definition.
    Jocelyn

  4. June 27, 2011 8:42 am

    I agree with Jocelyn, depends on how you will use it. And I agree with Irene to fill in more of the border to be sure. If you plan to fill in all the spaces with the metallic stitch, it will make it much more solid and it sounds like that is what you want. I like it either way!

Leave a Reply

