Skip to content

Cyclamen Scroll 4/22

April 22, 2011

The cyclamen flowers are done !  I am sure that they are not exactly as Betty would have done them but they are my flowers.  I am still dissappointed at the thread in the kit.  I have enough of the pinks/reds to do a whole garden of Cyclamens and I am running out of the dark colors.  In doing the stems I was hoping that I would have enough thread for the blackwork that I still need to do on the top of the scroll.

You can see a lot of holes just below the left flower. I put in part of the blackwork partial background and didn’t like the effect.  It is suppose to be done in a light grey but it hardly shows………another challenge.  I am having a hard time deciding if I need to use two ply of the grey or go to another color out of my stash…….. any ideas?

 I am now on to all the counted work !!! Yeah.  There is blackwork at the top of the scroll (you can just barely see the basting line), the rest of the white mat and the partial background behind the left flower. I am pushing hard to get this done before we take off in the motorhome on May 8th.  It will not go with me but if it is not done I now know that I will finish it in the fall.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue VanderNoor permalink
    April 22, 2011 10:31 am

    Hi

    My Mom has taken a number of classes from Betty and she will send you more thread if you drop her a line. I have her email addy somewhere and heard from her recently so if you want it let me know. Your piece is beautiful and the flowers look wonderful. I’ve taken a few classes from Betty as well and its always a learning experience.

    Sue VanderNoor

  2. Cait Johnson permalink
    April 22, 2011 10:36 am

    How lovely. Have fun in the motor home on your trip. Why not take it with you? A Finish is a finish.

  3. Winogene permalink
    April 23, 2011 7:48 am

    I think it looks lovely, Jan. I wish you would bring it with you when you come north. Anxiously waiting to see you !!!!!

  4. Velia permalink
    April 23, 2011 10:07 am

    You’ve done beatiful work, you should be so proud.

  5. Beth permalink
    April 24, 2011 2:17 pm

    It looks lovely. What will you take with you in the motorhome?

Leave a Reply

