Skip to content

Cyclamen Scroll Progress

April 11, 2011

The leaves are finished.  I ran out of thread !!!! of the proper color so I just used what I had.  Betty will probably groan if she sees my leaves.  I have more thread for the flower buds than I had for the leaves.  The kit was very skimpy. I will have to find a compatible thread for the stems.

With lots of baseball on this weekend I pressed forward with the mat background.  It is easy to stitch while rooting for my losing Mariners 😦

The blackwork background behind the leaves is not done in the recommended color. It was the one that I ran out of. This pattern was very easy to stitch but I had to use my brain when it came to the compensation.

I am going to proceed with the flower buds next.  They are smaller than the leaves and once they are done and the stems are done I won’t have to pierce the canvas anymore, everything else is counted.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2011 4:45 am

    This is so beautiful. The shading on the leaves is very well done and surely represents alot of time. I think it will be quite worth it in the end. I hope its a pleasure to stitch making it all the more worthwhile. thanks for sharing.

  2. April 12, 2011 8:25 am

    I’m loving those gorgeous blues!

  3. April 13, 2011 6:51 am

    You’re doing a beautiful job and have a lovely project there. I’ve always wanted to take a class from Betty Chen Louis and am looking forward to watching your progress.

  4. April 13, 2011 4:02 pm

    I don’t see anything wrong with the leaves – the shading gives such depth to the piece. Love it! Melita

  5. Julia permalink
    April 13, 2011 6:45 pm

    This looks really nice. I know what you mean about this type (piercing the threads) being so different for you after doing the geometric.
    I am now working on “Calla Lily Scroll”. I have changed some threads and colors on this one. The other Betty Chin Lou pieces I ahve done I have not changed.
    Yes I am the Julia that was doing the “Indian Lady” when you were. This is really funny that we are doing such at the same time similar pieces.
    I look forward to your posting to see what you are doing next.
    I will make a book mark soon!!
    I would love to send you a picture of my Indian lady but not sure how to get it to you.

    • stitchlady permalink*
      April 14, 2011 9:59 am

      Hi Julia, I would love to see your Indian Woman. If you have the photo on your computer yo can attach it to an e-mail. I have just gotten my Indian Woman back from the framer and will post a photo to my blog in the next day or two. Good luck on your Scroll. Jan

      https://stitchlady.wordpress.com My needlework blog. Do Visit

Leave a Reply

