Skip to content

Cyclamen Scroll: The Beginning

March 26, 2011

The class last weekend was great.  I so much enjoyed getting to meet Betty Chen Louis.  The project is called Cyclamen Scroll. It is on stretcher bars that are 11″ X 20″.  It has counted work and crewel on congress cloth.  It is certainly not my usual project.  Doing long and short shading without going into any holes is totally against the grain. I have several photos.

Class Progress

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The photo to the left shows my progress after the 2-day class. Look familiar? To the right is the soft shading on one of the flowers. This took me the whole first day of class. This Cyclamen is SMALL !

In order to keep interest in this project I am going to have to mix counted with crewel.  I completed the interior devider and the basting for two blackwork areas and the surrounding background.  It is very hard to see the basting.
The Leaf to the lower left took me two days, 3+ hours each,  I am still not sure I am happy with the results but I will live with it for a while.
I did the small blackwork area today.  Even though I do not do much blackwork it sure was fun to count and use the holes:)
Tomorrow I am going to Phoenix for a Spring Training game.  I will get back to my crewel work soon………
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dianne permalink
    March 27, 2011 7:07 am

    Jan,

    I have also stitched this piece, many years ago when Betty was still travelling to the west coast. Try and do some of the border as you go along. It seems to go on forever if you do not do some along the way. Watch out for the fading that daylight/light does to the silk if you leave it for a while.

    Enjoy. Its gorgeous.
    Dianne

  2. March 28, 2011 2:51 pm

    I think you’ve given yourself a challenge. I sure respect that. Looks good.

    Ro

  3. Norma Blum permalink
    April 12, 2011 5:29 am

    The project is just beautiful and elegant – and you are doing a great job! Don’t give up – keep on trucking because I think you will be so thrilled with the end product. Can’t wait to see your progress. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

