Skip to content

STOM March

March 23, 2011

I had a wonderful class in Tucson with Betty Chen Louis.  She is a delightful lady and a great teacher. She told many storied on China.  Her experiences as a child and then her return trips to the interior of China on a Pat Dalton tour.  On Friday night she gave a slide presentation and had many samples of Chinese embroidery.

The class was a challenge as we learned soft shading.  We are stitching on congress cloth and NOT going in any of the holes.  We pierced the canvas to create the proper shape.  I will post photos soon.

Today I am updating on the ANG Stitch Of The Month.  The March area is a Jean Hilton stitch, Amadeus.

I have had a couple of requests for the colorway that I am using.

PEARL COTTON: Anchor 337 Rust

DMC 3041 Lavender

Anchor 368 Gold

Anchor 214 Green

Accenturate: 333 Lavender

FLOSS: DMC 522 Green

DMC 3041 Lavender

DMC 3778  Peach

Needle Necessities: 1471 Overdye

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 11:45 am

    I envy your class with Betty Chin Louis. One of these days she’ll be teaching and I’ll be able to take it.

    So far I like your choice of colors. I’ll be interested in seeing what colors April will bring.

    Ro

  2. Priscilla Cordero permalink
    March 23, 2011 5:24 pm

    Thank you for posting your progress on ANG SOM. I have been struggling with using 2 ply of the Gloriana for the waffle stitch and think I will pull out what I have done and try 3 ply. It looks as though Amadeus may not be as challenging as the waffle stitch, but one never knows…

Leave a Reply

