Skip to content

Far Horizon Background Trials

March 14, 2011

I have done more and more ripping as I tried background stitches. I put the above background area in on Friday. I used #8 pearl. I slept on it and on Saturday I decided it was still too heavy. So I ripped it all out. I went outside on my porch and began to rethink what effect I wanted to have. I knew I did not want the background to be the first thing I saw when I looked at the project.  As I was sitting there staring at my desert sky I decided that the effect I wanted was no effect at all, just a wash of color as the sky I was enjoying had.

I spent a couple of hours going through my many stitch books and finally after a couple of trial and error samples I settled on good old alternating continental.  I went back to my Soie Cristale. I used only one ply and began next to the mountains so I could see if it did indeed receed.  It did 🙂 Since then I have spent hours on the sky.  If you have ever done this stitch you know how time consumning it it.  I do not believe the Soie Cristale is overdyed but some plys seem to be thinner than others and I think I am getting just a hint of color change.  I hope that the next photo you see will be my project completed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    March 14, 2011 6:11 pm

    Yes you have it right now!!! Great job!!!

  2. March 14, 2011 9:13 pm

    looking good! Nice change.

  3. March 15, 2011 6:06 am

    Much better – now everything elso really pops.

  4. Mary Ellen Winnicki permalink
    March 16, 2011 7:29 am

    If you want light color changes you should try treadworxs overdye in a pale blue using 1 ply. I have just used the same technique on my canvas with a sky that I want to be in the background. It came out stunning!

Leave a Reply

