Skip to content

Far Horizon

February 20, 2011

I have spent months working on Galaxy and looking at Far Horizon.  I am sure most of you have had a project that has an area that you are not looking forward to attempting.  This is the reason that Far Horizon hasn’t been finished sooner. Just to refresh your memory.  I won this Tish canvas at the ANG seminar in 2008.  It was a small opportunity basket and I really wanted the canvas.  When I got it I thought what now.  Painted canvases are not my forte……but I loved this design.  Last year I decided that I would take the canvas embelishment class at seminar.  Mine was the smallest canvas in the class.  I loved the class and came home all excited about finishing it.  The HAIR is what has held me back.  I have worried about how to acheive the look I want.  It will make or break the whole canvas (in my opinion).  When I finally stitch it, it will probably take an hour at most.  I can’t tell you how many hours I have worried about this. 

When I first put this canvas on  my blog I called it Indian Woman.  I had forgotten that there actually was a stitch guide that came with it.  This stitch guide is so old that it was handwritten !!!! In going through my “to do” stack a couple of months ago I came across the stitch guide and the information that the correct title of the design is Far Horizon.

I now have the project in my studio and I am determined to get it finished ! I have a Betty Chen Louis class in a few weeks and I would like to have this one done.  There are a lot of beads (the whole coller) so I have my work cut out for me.  Yesterday I finished the black pot and now I am working on the sand.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    February 20, 2011 12:32 pm

    I just love this piece. If I had seen it, I would have wanted it also. You are doing a beautiful job with it. I just finished Indian Pot by Designs by Jinice. The directions were partly typed and partly handwritten. It is a challenge but it feels so good when you finish them. I will watch for you to finish this one.

  2. Judith permalink
    February 20, 2011 5:19 pm

    Your stitch choices are fabulous. You are really capturing the varied textures of the different items. I’m looking forward to seeing more.

  3. February 20, 2011 6:14 pm

    This is lovely and you are going to do a wonderful job on the hair. You can do this. Just stop worrying and stitch it. I have great faith in your ability to stitch this canvas.

  4. Mary Ellen Winnicki permalink
    February 21, 2011 8:23 am

    Try the split stitch using 2 ply of Burmilana. Your stitches bring out the feeling of the west.

    • Mary Ellen Winnicki permalink
      February 21, 2011 8:25 am

      The split stitch for the hair, or you can use the packed outline stitch using 3 ply of floss, I have used both stitched for hair and they usually give the look that you want.

  5. sue permalink
    June 20, 2013 5:58 am

    Beautiful job. I have been looking for this canvas and stitch guide. Can you help me out.
    Sue

  6. sue permalink
    June 22, 2013 2:34 pm

    Can you tell me where I can get this canvas and perhaps a stitch guide too.
    Thanks
    Sue

    • sue permalink
      June 22, 2013 2:35 pm

      Looking for Far Horizon needlepoint canvas …can anyone help…stitch guide would be nice too
      Thanks sue

    • stitchlady permalink*
      June 22, 2013 3:54 pm

      Far Horizons is a Sundance design. I do not know if it is still available. I took it to a canvas embellishment class and will be glad to share the stitches I used if you find the canvas. Good luck, Jan

      Do Visit My needlepoint blog: https://stitchlady.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

