Skip to content

Galaxy Update

January 9, 2011

I have been making big progress on Galaxy.  It took me several days to complete the big star.  You will notice that I have now turned my canvas rightside up. I think I am almost halfway done. The rhodes stitches are done in two colors. The bottom half is the overdye and the top layer is the dark brown #5 pearl.

I did have to do some frog work on this area.  The green triangles have a left to right direction and I did my second one with the directional going right to left.  It was a real chore to rip out.  Done in two colors, alternating rows so threads were continually piercing other threads 😦  I think it took me longer to rip out one triangle than it did to stitch it.

On Friday night I realized that I was running out of the #5 pearl green that is used in the squares to the right and left at the bottom of the star.  Saturday morning I made a 911 call to my LNS (The West in Tucson) and my thread should be here tomorrow.

Saturday and today were big football days, so no stitching.  I love this time of the football season………..but it always leads to February when there is NO football or baseball, my favorite sports.  I will get lots of stitching done 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2011 3:25 pm

    This is coming along beautifully! Rainforest is one of my favorite Watercolours, so I love the color scheme for this version. I’m looking forward to seeing more progress as you work your way through the design.

  2. Norma Blum permalink
    February 14, 2011 5:58 am

    Galaxy is just beautiful. Every where on the canvas there is beauty and interest. I love your workmanship, the colors and the design. Well done and it has been a pleasure watching you develop the piece, step-by-step.

Leave a Reply

