Skip to content

Galaxy

November 30, 2010

This new project is titled Galaxy.  It is a Kathy Rees design.  Her designs can be seen at www.needledelights.com . This is a large design.  I have it on 16″ X 24″ stretcher bars. It only called for 16″ X 22″ stretcher bars but I did not have 22″ so I used my 24″.  It really looks hugh compared to the small pieces I have been doing. There are nearly a dozen colorways to choose from.  I went to my LNS after my ANG meeting in Tucson on the 20th and looked at the Watercolors that each colorway was based on.  I chose one called Rainforest.  It is a fall colorway.

Rainforest Colorway

To begin I had to create a large grid to aid in the counting of the various areas.  My DH thought I was doing a design made up of lots of squares, each 24 threads by 24 threads.  I explained that on a large design it just made the counting easier.

I have begun stitching.  So far three of the squares have been completed and I am working on an area that is made up of four of the squares.

Shown here are the first two squares, The first is done and the second one still has a neutral filling.  There are two Watercolors used in the first square. One is a dark Watercolor and the other is a light Watercolor.  One thing that I like about this project is that there is a lot of pearl cotton (no laying) 🙂 There are four colors of Belle Soie, which is wonderful to work with and does require laying.

I am currently working in the lower right corner.  I hope Kathy doesn’t mind my posting the color photo from her chart.  I wanted you to see the full project.  My colors are not the ones shown. This project is being done on 18ct eggshell canvas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:48 pm

    Galaxy looks like it will be addicting! Have fun with it.

  2. December 1, 2010 1:11 am

    Oh, this is a great project! I will be watching with interest. I am planning to start one of Kathy’s designs called Rainforest Crunch in January.

  3. December 1, 2010 9:53 am

    This is going to be such fun! Yummy colors & lots of great patterns. I really like Kathy’s designs too! I have several waiting in the wings!!

Leave a Reply

