Skip to content

Orchid and Indian Woman

November 16, 2010

I have been dividing my time between Indian Woman and Orchid Orchid is on my floor stand in my studio and Indian Woman is on my floor stand in the livingroom. 

I have completed the cactus,  It is done in burden stitch with a kreinik braid as the layed thread and Planet Earth silk as the couching thread.

Working on the black vase is a challenge.  Black on black is hard on the eyes.  I use lighting and a white lap cloth to help me locate the holes.  The stitch is oblique brick.

I continue to worry about what I am going to do with her hair. Padded satin seems like the best option I have come up with. Getting the hair ties and small ornament is still a puzzle.

The collar is to be ALL beads…..for now I will continue on the black vase and then the sand while I think about all the beads and the hair.

Orchid is a fun relaxing project that I work on while listening to recorded books on CD in my studio.  The bargello stitch doesn’t require much thought, just putting the needle in and out of the canvas while paying attention to the proper threads for needleblending.  This project will be done before I am ready to see it end.

I am contemplating doing a fly stitch for the leaf areas that are still open.  I will play with that on my practice canvas before I make a final decision.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 9:45 am

    I love them both! Indian Woman is stunning. Have you considered using a pin for the jewelry on her hair?
    Your colors on the Bargello are gorgeous!

  2. November 17, 2010 1:27 pm

    Stunning as always.

    For the hair jewelry, since there is lot going on with the rest of the piece, I would just keep it simple with a tent stitch but using a metallic thread to give it a little glitz.

Leave a Reply

