Skip to content

Indian Woman

October 25, 2010

I have been making progress on my Indian Woman and coming up with more questions on how to handle situations with a painted canvas. You can see my mountains to the left.  I had to take them all out and put them in again decreasing the ply from 4 to 2.  They are in the background and 4 ply made them look to fat ????  The darker mountains are done with Belle Soie in criss-cross hungarian, a stitch that I like but have never used before. 

 One of my teachers suggested that the pink ridge be done in satin however when I began stitching the satin did not cover the canvas (I changed the color from a hot pink to this rode pink) and the color showed through.  I switched to a mosaic. A diagonal stitch covers more with less plys.  Mosaic is a small stitch and fit the area nicely. I used Belle Soie, 2 ply.

The farthest mountains are nobunko stitch done in 2 ply of Belle Soie silk.  Such a nice thread to work with.  I am enjoying the solks that I have chosen for this project.  I am usually trying to work from my stash and that means a lot of DMC and Anchor floss.  I splurged on this project getting wonderful threads from the shop (which was very close to our classroom.).

I am driving to San Diego tomorrow to spend a week with my grandkids.  I have finished my Snowman and am leaving Indian Woman at home.  I’m kitting a small project to work on.  More next week.

NOTE: PLEASE VOTE ON NOV 2, OUR FUTURE DEPENDS ON THIS ELECTION. I don’t usually stray from needlework but this election is important and I am always saddened by the small presentage of our population who turn out to vote.

One Comment leave one →
  1. julia permalink
    October 25, 2010 12:11 pm

    I am watching you closely as I took a Indian Lady to stitch for ANG auction for next year. I am taking note of the stitches you are using… Keep posting!
    Thanks so much, Julia

Leave a Reply

