Skip to content

Discovery, The Beginning

August 23, 2010

Discovery Foundation

After several days of stitching I have all the foundations completed.  There are five rows of a dark Watercolor (Peacock), five rows of a medium, Watercolors (Twilight) and five rows of a light Watercolors (Pistachio Nut).  These are the Watercolors that are called for in the original instructions.  This chart is 20 years old so I am not sure how these compare to what Jean used.  I do like the combination.  My only question is….is the medium too dark compared to the light?  Since I am restricted in my choices I am going to press forward and see how my colors come together.  I have decided to work a portion of each area towards the bottom and see how it will come together.  If I decide I need to change something I won’t have so much frog work to do 🙂 The canvas is tan and so far I like the contrast.  I haven’t worked on much colored canvas and I may be missing out on some great ideas.

This Thursday we will be heading to central Oregon for a “Cousins Reunion” on my husbands side of the family.  I have a painted canvas eyeglass case that I will take along….can’t go anywhere for four days without something to stitch on.  The eyegalss case is a kit with all the floss and is mostly tent stitch.  Easy to do while visiting…….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    August 23, 2010 4:01 pm

    IMHO, the medium color is a good choice as the lighter aspects of it seem to match the darker elements of the pistachio nut and the darker aspects of the twilight is so similar to the peacock. Nice gradation.

  2. August 24, 2010 11:16 am

    This is going to be so pretty! I think the darkest Watercolour is not a dark as it was 20 years ago, but that section should darken when the other threads go in.

  3. August 24, 2010 7:15 pm

    You are off to a great start!

    I am awful with picking out colors. I think it will be easier to judge the colors once you are able to fill in some of the outlines.

Leave a Reply

