Skip to content

Background Sampler Up Close

July 29, 2010

Here we go……some close ups of each area. They are below the descriptions of the areas. I haven’t exactly figured out all the protocol for putting text between pictures.  Always more to figure out 🙂

Area 1 has a light overdye in addition to #8 pearl, thus the slight color change.

Area 2 Is a plaid with a touch of metallic.

Area 3 is an oblong cross with a tent fill in.

Area 4 is pearl #8 withe floss couching and then I reversed the threads in the lower half, laying the floss and couching with the pearl.  I just wanted to see the difference it made.

Area 5 is all tent with the directions reversed to create a stripe.  I think I would like this better if one of the directions was a slightly different shade of the same color.  This ia all done in #8 pearl.

Area 6, this is also in #8 pearl. A skip tent with encroaching gobelin. I did part with the gobelin horizontal and part verticle again just to see the difference and left part with just the tent.

Area 7 is floss laid with #5 pearl.  I think this would be hard to compensate around an irregular design but I like the look.

I am now working on Area 8 and 9…….

Area 1

Area 2

Area 3

Area 4

Area 5

Area 6

Area 7

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 12:48 pm

    Hey, this a very informative article and the pictures are nice.

  2. July 29, 2010 2:46 pm

    Very cool and useful sampler! Are you a member of the cyber group of ANG? I’m thinking of joining that chapter and if this is the type of work they do—WOW! Out of my league!……julie

  3. Norma permalink
    July 30, 2010 5:30 am

    I think the colors and the stitches in the sampler are just wonderful! You’ve done a terrific job.

Leave a Reply

