Skip to content

Background Sampler Progress

July 27, 2010

I have been making good progress on my Background Sampler.  This is a David McCaskill design. I am finding that background stitches are time consuming but easy to stitch. Because this is a monocromatic colorway the detail of my stitching is hard to see.  These are the first 9 areas.  The center is done in triangles.  It is not very visable either in this photo or on the canvas unless you look close.  I know that background stitches are suppose to just “be there” and not draw attention to themselves.

The upper left is a plaid pattern with a touch of metallic.  I liked the look of this and it worked up pretty fast. The upper right is a laid pattern.  I reversed the two threads I was working with at the halfway point just to see the difference.  One half is floss with #8 pearl as the couching thread, then the pearl #8 is the laid thread and the floss is the couching thread.  I can see that I am going to have to take some real close ups………I will work on getting close ups of each area.  More soon

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 3:24 pm

    I’m impressed with your stitching and your technological ability.

Leave a Reply

