Skip to content

Four Winds Almost Done

June 30, 2010

I have made great progress this week but not without some frustration.  Not with the chart but I ran out of not one but TWO threads.  I purchased the threads as called for in the instructions….. I usually get more than called for but not this time 😦  Fortunately it was a DMC floss and #5 pearl I ran out of.  Missoula, MT is an hour away and they have a Michaels.  I figured I could get the floss and the floss color for the #5 pearl (which I didn’t think Michaels would have) and do some redesigning on the outside border.  Imagine my fruatration when Michaels was OUT of the floss that I needed for the pattern inside the two borders.  And my surprise when they HAD the #5 pearl. Of course I have the floss in my stash in AZ 🙂 I picked up 729 in place of the missing 728 and figured there was some colorway changing due.  I am so close to finishing I just couldn’t put it aside……that creates a UFO ! I have all the little metallic and bead areas to complete. 

This photo shows the yellow canvas and more true colors.  I think I have been using the flash on my camera and it has been washing out the colors.  I just keep trying to figure it out……

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cait Johnson permalink
    June 30, 2010 11:31 am

    Oh my word, that is coming along so beautifully and is drop dead gorgeous! Well, I hope you had a great lunch in Missoula for all the frustration you went through and I don’t mean just at a fast food place. I have the same problem. My residence is at least one hour away in four directions, well, three. The north has floss maybe 1 and 1/2 hours away and 2.5 hours for sure. To the south east and west is at least one hour. So I know what you mean.
    Now that you are so close, do you have a back-up stitching to do? Hope so.
    Again, congratulations on such a beautiful pattern and gettin so much work done on it.

  2. June 30, 2010 7:34 pm

    It looks fabulous! Since Wal@$%# stopped carrying DMC, I have to drive 30 miles to get it. I would have never thought that Michaels would have the #5, so that is definitely good to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

