Skip to content

Four Winds

June 10, 2010

I am practicing the art of manipulating Watercolors for a mirror image. This is the easy way to manipulate an overdye.  I was not concerned with the way the colors fell in the pattern only that the color flow mirrored each other from side to side.  I would have had the same mirror colorflow from top to bottom but Watercolors has only three ply..and four would be required. 

 I have done this before and been pleased with the results.  I ply a length of Watercolors into three.  Fold and loosly knot one of the plys and put aside.  Begin stitching with one of the remaining two plys.  Make a mental note of which end the knot is tied on and count the threads to where you place your waste knot. This insures that you will start stitching in approximately the same spot of the thread on each side of the pattern.  Stitch the pattern in the same order on each side.  This will result in your colorflow being mirrored. As you choose the next length of thread you can decide which end to knot.  You will be able to control the colorflow as in not getting too much of the same color together. Looking at these photos you can see the mirrored colorflow in the top portion of the chevron and again the the bottom portion of the chevron.

The reason that I loosly fold and knot the remaining ply of Watercolors is so that I know it is a single ply whose colorway does not match anything else. It looks like I will need to use these later on in this chart. I will not be able to mirror image I will just have to stitch random.  I should have bought two skeins.  It does use more when you are manipulating your colorway and this should be considered when purchasing your supplies for a design.  This Watercolor is “Fiesta”  One of my favorites and I probably have another skein in my studio in Arizona……..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. BFromM permalink
    June 10, 2010 9:42 am

    Oooh! I love this idea. Watercolours is my absolute favorite thread, and I love watching the color move. I’ve never though of using it to have a design with a mirror image. I’ll have to try that!

  2. Cait Johnson permalink
    June 10, 2010 8:53 pm

    Can I come visit for about a month? Sounds like heaven.

  3. June 10, 2010 9:34 pm

    I’d never heard of doing this although it makes perfect sense. It’s a great effect. And, that is a great color. The overdyes are very versatile. Thanks for the lesson. Sorry it’s rainy so much but it is letting you stitch. And, wow are you stitching. Making up for lost time. Glad you are back. Stay well. Melita

  4. June 11, 2010 9:25 am

    Great explanation! Thanks. And I like your colors!

Leave a Reply

