Skip to content

Bargello Sampler Update

April 29, 2010

As promised here is the latest update on Bargello Sampler.  As I get further into the project I think I could have made it better with a couple of color changes. The purple that I used with the pinks is a little distracting.  The overdye should be the only different color.  I am not sure about the yellow as a contrast.  In retrospect I think I should have chosen a green as a true contrast.

The charts are a challenge and SOMEHOW my areas on the left do not come together exactly. I am off two threads somewhere….but where is the million dollar question.  The charts have no overlap and working in the center where all four charts come together presented a challenge.  Luckily I have been able to compensate for the two threads.  I put in the two outlines on the left so that any compensating that I need to do will be in the background.

The ribbons were not suppose to be all in the same value order but I felt that I had too much variation already so I chose to make them all the same.  I sure am learning a lot on this project.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sammy Rusk permalink
    May 1, 2010 5:52 am

    I think that your changes in color–change the pink and substitute the yellow with green–are great.
    To me the yellow is really distracting.But yellow is not one of my favorite colors and if I have to use it, I want a more subtle shade of yellow.

    I always remember Maggie Lane’s credo that a canvas should have light, dark and bright areas.

    I know that almost everyone likes/loves the yellow mono canvas but I have never ‘fallen in love ‘with it or even been lukewarm to it.

    I would not have known about the miscount but the entire canvas is looking really great.

    Keep up the good work!!

    Sammy Rusk

  2. May 1, 2010 8:18 am

    Your needlework is always inspiring, & you blog is interesting & informative. It is joy to check in to see what you are stitching, you never cease to amaze. These last two pieces are amazing! Soon they will be completed and added to your wall of fame!

  3. May 3, 2010 9:55 am

    I am so pleased that you are stitching this piece. It looks great and so different from the one I did. I love watching your progress! Personally, I like the yellow. Since there is yellow in the overdye, it works even though it isn’t quite a complement of the pinks. And the purple fits in just fine, which actually IS the complement of the yellow. Good work!

Leave a Reply

