Skip to content

Flying Geese 4/15

April 15, 2010

I am still doing ecru on ecru but I thought I would give you a peek at the beginning.  The diamonds went in fine but when I got to the background in that area I ran into a challenge.  It is a simple mosaic stitch but I failed to correctly identify the compensating stitches.  The diamonds are done with 4 ply of floss and the background was suppose to be 4 ply also. 

 As I stitched a few inches of it the first time I decided that it was too full. I reduced the ply to 2 and I think it looks much better with the texture difference.

The canvas looks grey but is actually ecru.  The lighting in my studio is not the best. I used a larger picture this time in hopes that you will be able to really see the stitching. I noticed that there is a pretty in depth article in the latest Needle Pointers magazine. I hope I will learn some tips that will improve my photos.

I haven’t done much stitching in the past few days as my DH had surgery last Friday.  He is home and on the mend. But we all know how men are when they are recovering 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 9:24 am

    This looks very nice!
    Re: DH, you have my sympathies! Mine had a knee replacement a few years ago, OMG you’d think the world was coming to an end. But he recovered, and so did I! Hang in there.

  2. April 16, 2010 10:47 am

    Oh – I think ecru on ecru is so difficult to stitch sometimes…or maybe my eyes just aren’t up for it. 🙂

  3. April 18, 2010 8:02 am

    Working on black is worse! This is really pretty – well done! I hadn’t seen your blog before – found it on Sharon B.’s list this morning, and so glad I did – I’ve missed a lot.

  4. April 18, 2010 1:20 pm

    The texture differences make it more interesting – looking forward to seeing more & I hope your DH feels better.

Leave a Reply

