Skip to content

Bargello Sampler 4/8

April 8, 2010

I have been making some progress on my Bargello Sampler.  Baseball games provide lots of stitching time. The size of this project is approximately 8 1/2″ X 11″.  It is the MOST colorful piece I have ever stitched and I am wondering if I have gone over the top.

The chart presents a challenge as it is in four quadrants with no overlap.  Right now I am working where all four charts come together and it is a little frustrating.  The charts a very good and done differently than any other bargello chart I have ever used.  Instead of line stitches the stitches are represented by colored grid squares.  I have not seen a chart like this before.  I wish there was an overlap but, heck, what would a project be if it didn’t present something new.

I think I am going to work on Flying Geese today.  I like having a choice of projects all set up and ready stitch.

I sent in  my registration for the ANG Seminar in Columbus this October.  Now the waiting for class selections.  My top choice is unusual this year.  It is a canvas embelishment class where (if I get it) I hope to learn about thread and stitch selection for a painted canvas that I got at last years Seminar Silent Auction.  I don’t do many painted canvases but I have a few I would like to do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy Kelly permalink
    April 8, 2010 11:10 am

    I am a color conservative when it comes to stitching. I am attempting to break out of my shell and use more color. Your piece is inspiring in that respect, I like your colorway. It is more than I would choose for myself right now, I wish I had the courage to go with it because it is really striking. Keep going.

  2. April 8, 2010 12:22 pm

    I love the colors in this. Is your embelishment class with Carol Lake? If it is, I took it a couple of years ago with EGA. It was a good class but take another WIP with you. You have lots of time to stitch when they are discussing other canvases. I signed up for 5 days of classes at ANG. I had a hard time picking classes because so many looked like fun!!

  3. April 9, 2010 7:59 am

    A fiesta of fun colors!!

  4. Nancy Robertson permalink
    April 9, 2010 8:23 am

    Jan did you sign up for the 4 day canvas embellishment with Beth, Suzanne, Tony & Meredith? That is my first choice class to do a Christmas stocking for my granddaughter. Maybe we will be in the same class. :/)

  5. Cait Johnson permalink
    April 14, 2010 10:02 am

    How ‘nummy’ is this!
    I love bargello and my poor daughter says it makes her nauseous to look at.
    This is the daughter that will sit for hours and do beading with seed beads for earrings, necklaces and bracelets!!
    This is absolutely beautiful, and Thanks for showing it.
    I found you through another site and she is right, you do beautiful work.
    Put your site on my desktop so I can keep up with you.
    Huggs, Cait

  6. Mary J. Hardwidge permalink
    October 9, 2011 2:12 pm

    MJ
    I’m getting totoal into Bargello. I love the designs, colors and all the possible patterns.
    I especially find your Bargello Sampler above very interesting….. how do I get the pattern. The winter months are coming and I always like a stitching project laying around. I’m up for a challenge. I’m going to include my e-mail below, so please reply with pattern info.
    Happy Stitching.

Leave a Reply

