Skip to content

Hearts Gone Wild 2/19

February 19, 2010

Now that my bargello project is complete I am back to Hearts Gone Wild.  I am happily watching the olympics and making great progress.  Area 9 still baffles me.  I have tried to get a good close-up so you can see my problem.  The heart on the right side of the border was stitched according to the chart…so I thought.  As you can see the heart is NOT right……I just keep looking at it while I stitch the other areas.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2010 9:08 am

    Oh, I bet that’s frustrating. And it looks difficult because it’s all the same color. But so far the piece looks so sweet and fun!

  2. Monica permalink
    February 22, 2010 10:01 am

    I took this class also and this one border has driven me to have a migraine with the counting and eyeballing of where “not” to stitch since the hearts are created in the photo negative. I finally decided to drawn a diagonal line from the corner of the inner box to the outer box as a guide and just continue the satin stitching on each one right up to the line for a mitered look for each corner. of course that meant ripping out about as much as you have stitched already – I did the corner heart in class and then the side heart ended up much like yours. I live by the philosophy from a NP teacher who told the class one day “this is supposed to be a love, a passion, something you do for enjoyment. If anything is making you hate it, then don’t do it, as that misses the point.” she is right. I am an accomplished stitcher but this is not a technique I will ever use again and the plainer mitered border does not detract from the beautiful design so – I changed it. I am planning to make this in a red, white and black motif design and I am going to try to figure out a more intricate border for this square but until then – the mitering is great. Your piece is looking beautiful!!!

    • stitchlady permalink*
      February 24, 2010 5:16 pm

      I am still just looking at Area9…I am glad that I am not the only one who has gotten headaches from this border. I would be so easy to redesign but I think I will give it one more try when I get everything else stitched.

Leave a Reply

