Skip to content

Milwaukee Seminar

September 6, 2009

I can’t believe that 2009 seminar is now a memory. I arrived at midnight Friday night and was fortunate enough to get the shuttle, get checked into the Hilton and be in bed and turn off the light by 1:30am.  Saturday morning came all too soon and I was in my first class at 8:30am.

Double Up Ro Pace 1

Double Up with Ro Pace was my first 3 day class.  The project is one that will challenge my skills in more ways than one.  The project is entitled Double Up because there are a lot of Hilton-type stitches that are layered up (doubled) one on top of another.  The colorway is turquoise and peach.  Very pleasing to the eye.  The charts are the biggest challenge.  They are not the clearest due to the way the software numbers the stitches.  I have gotten spoiled by charts that are a dream to work with.   (Photo is Ro’s finished project)

I learned a very valuable lesson on day one.  I was working on congress cloth and having a very hard time with two strands of silk attempting to do a waffle stitch in the center.  My thread kept fraying big time.  I took stitches out tried another pair of threads with the same results.  I was beginning to wonder if I had gotten a bad skein of silk.  I asked Ro what the problem might be.  She gave me a new skein and I told her I would try the stitch that night.  In discussing this problem with my roommate Saturday night we determined that it wasn’t the silk it was the size of needle that I was using.  The 24 seemed the right size for congress cloth but when I switched to a 22 it made all the difference in the world.  I needed to open the hole wider in order to have the thread pass through without fraying.  My thinking that a 22 was too big was incorrect.  I have yet to attend a class or workshop without learning something very valuable and sometimes very basic. I returned the extra skein of silk in class on Sunday.

The Welcome Banquet was Saturday night.  It was well attended.  I had the best piece of beef that I have EVER had.  I have no idea what the cut was.  It was cooked just perfect….a little pink in the middle.  The amazing thing was that I cut it with a dinner knife and it melted in my mouth.  The only disappointment was no chocolate for dessert.  In Wisconsin you get cheesecake.

To be continued…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

