Skip to content

Imperial Topaz 2/18

February 18, 2009
2/18

2/18

2/18

2/18

I am beginning to reach that point in a project where I can see the end and I want to hurry and get there.  I think this design is getting more stunning with each area that I complete.

The shaded area around the pattern couching is done in a stitch that Sue Reed calls Serendipity.  It is alternating rows of mosaic and inverted mosaic. Using three values of floss and needle blending  I created five combinations from dark to light.  Using 4 strands, the following formula was used: 4 dark, 2 dark & 2 medium, 4 medium, 2 medium & 2 light and finally 4 light.  Each combination was used for one row of mosaic and one row of the inverted mosaic. When stitching this it didn’t look to me like the shading was obvious, when I stepped away WOW it works.  I used this shading technique in Fire and Ice. You can revisit  this project.  It is in the dropdown menu “Projects” in the sidebar to the left.  I took the class from Sue Reed at Indian Wells.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

