Skip to content

Imperial Topaz 2/11

February 11, 2009

imperial-topaz-2-11

imperial-topaz-2-11-closeup

 As I anticipated, the trip to Las Vegas was lots of fun but very exhausting.  My granddaughter won a silver medal in one of her cheerleading divisions.  My daughter and I enjoyed Saturday together beginning with massages…ahhhh. Arrived home Sunday afternoon.

Monday I drove to Green Valley, AZ.  It is about a 1+ hour drive each way.  It was worth every minute of the driving.  I went to see Dale Miller.  She is a member of the Green Valley ANG Chapter and has begun a business out of her home.  She acquires needlework stash from estates and older stitchers who no longer can or want to stitch.  She called me because in her last acquisition there were 15 bargello books.  Naturally I already had some of them but did acquire several more.  Dale sells on e-bay and has a website. She has canvas (plain and painted), threads  and books.  There are some real bargains to be had, especially painted canvases.   Her website address is www.canvasesbegone.com  There is a link on my blogroll. I hope some of you will take advantage of this.  I have no monetary interest in her business I just feel this is a great opportunity for those of us watching our pennies.

Yesterday I woke up to snow on the ground…not much, mind you, but snow in Arizona is always a big event.  I decided to stay inside and get back to some stitching.

I pressed on with the borders around the rhodes stitches.  The Neon Rays always is a challenge and the stitching didn’t go very fast.  The effect is wonderful.  I began the small oblong tent stitches that fill in between the rhodes and the border.  The closeup shows three of the squares with the oblong tent stitch done.  Now I am heading back to my canvas.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

