Skip to content

Four Way Bargello Beginnings

December 11, 2008

four-way-bargello1 

I have been asked to do a  program on Four Way Bargello this fall  for the Tucson ANG chapter.  In looking through my information on Bargello I came across a project in the June/July 1995 Needlepointers that I am doing as practice for designing the chapter project.four-way-bargello24four-way-bargello31 

I have already done frog work and learned the first valuable lesson.  The chart shows the center stitch and does not mention that the stitch is only done once.  I stitched, counted, ripped several times before the light bulb went off.  Hopefully my brain will retain this information.

As usual I changed the colors from the original.  Working from my stash again.  Because the supply list called for 3 skeins of each of three values of the chosen color I was limited to color choice.  I am a green person and I think I have some of every green ever made :).  The light area was suppose to be white…I felt that the white was too much contrast to the greens I chose so I went to a very pale yellow.  It looks like ecru next to the green.  Ecru itself looked too brown.

Photos show my first three days of stitching.  I love bargello and this four way project is one of only a few I have done.  I have done lots of regular bargello and done some designing in bargello.  Four way is expanding my knowledge.  I have one of Dorothy Kaestner’s books entitled “Four Way Bargello” .  It is an old book but the information never goes out of date.

I am still learning how to place photos……I tried for three thumbnail shots down the left side.  Oh well, two out of three isn’t bad.  I will continue to learn.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tracey Kramer permalink
    March 14, 2015 7:37 am

    Please, please, where can I get this pattern. I would like to stitch this. It’s absolutely beautiful!

  2. Tracey Kramer permalink
    March 14, 2015 7:45 am

    Never mind. I was able to order the issue of Needlepointers on Amazon which includes this pattern. Thanks for including the source in your article! It was a big help.

Leave a Reply

