Skip to content

Paul’s Santa 2

June 15, 2008

Colonial SantaWith Beard StitchedThis painted canvas is certaintly a diferent challenge than my usually complicated geometrics.  I do think that I am making it more of a challenge than I need to just because I don’t have much experience with painted canvases.  Yesterday I sat and stared…..and finally decided to just stitch.  First I did the beard.  The stitch guide called for long and short stitch.  When I got the area covered I wasn’t happy with the look so I added random directional stitches which padded the beard some and I liked it much better.

Next I stared at the pant legs, consulted my stitch books.  The stitch guide had left out the pants so I was on my own.  I decided that the shading was very necessary for the pant legs to look natural so I went to the trusty tent stitch.  As I was watching my Seattle Mariners lose again the tent stitch was pretty easy to do.

Now I am back to staring and reading stitch books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

